Tuesday, June 1, 2021

June 2021 Pass Or Pages Agent Panel Reveal!

 

Meet the agents who will critique your Adult Fantasy entries!

*Note.Fantasy is a genre of speculative fiction, often set in a fictional universe, sometimes inspired by myths and folklore. The query should feature magical or supernatural elements that probably do not exist in the real world.

  

Michaela Whatnall

Dystel, Goderich and Bourret LLC

Michaela Whatnall joined Dystel, Goderich & Bourret in 2019 as the assistant to Michael Bourret in the West Coast office. After graduating from Emory University with a degree in English and linguistics, Michaela completed the Columbia Publishing Course. Their background in school and library marketing accounts for their strong interest in children's literature, from picture books up through middle grade and young adult novels and graphic novels. In the adult fiction space, they are particularly seeking character-driven speculative fiction, sci-fi/fantasy, and other genre fiction that features historically underrepresented characters. They are also interested in nonfiction for both children and adults, especially narrative nonfiction in the areas of history, the creative arts, and lifestyle.


Rebecca Podos (Author of The Mystery of Hollow Places)

 Becca Podos (@RebeccaPodos) | Twitter

Rebecca Podos

Rees Literary

Rebecca Podos is a graduate of the MFA Writing, Literature and Publishing program at Emerson College. Her Young Adult fiction (The Mystery of Hollow Places, Like Water, The Wise and the Wicked) is published by Balzer+Bray/ HarperCollins. In the Young Adult and Middle Grade categories, Rebecca loves everything from high fantasy to horror, contemporary to historical, and rom-com to magic realism, as long as it has a strong voice and memorable characters whose humanity shines through. OwnVoices Jewish and LGBTQIA books,  stories exploring multi-generational relationships, novels featuring marginalized voices and cultures across genres, and a sci-fi about a queer spaceship captain are high on her wish list. She is also now acquiring Adult romance in the vein of Well Met, Red White & Royal Blue, The Lady’s Guide to Celestial Mechanics, and Alyssa Cole’s Reluctant Royals series, as well as Adult sci-fi and fantasy. Send your sweeping, sexy Kushiel’s Dart-style epics, please! She is thrilled to represent books by authors like Reina Luz Alegre, Ashley Herring Blake, Rin Chupeco, Sonia Hartl, Mackenzi Lee, London Shah, Rebecca Kim Wells, and more.

 

Elle Thompson

Triada US Literary Agency

Assistant agent Elle Thompson joined Triada US as a literary assistant to Uwe Stender and is now looking to build her list with stories that are evocative, intelligent, and character-driven. She is interested in a wide variety of genres within YA and Adult fiction.
 
In adult fiction, Elle is currently seeking smart horror rooted in terror (particularly with gothic elements, special attention paid to atmosphere, and horrors that set themselves around the house or that have a historical rooting); cozy mysteries that evoke the countryside and the home; literary fiction that explores grief, historically centered and character-driven stories, or relationships (platonic or romantic, and I am particularly interested in stories that center the relationships and friendships of women); historical fiction centering on individual moments of change for either the environment or the protagonist and that is strongly character-focused; dark academia takes on thrillers, horror, or evocative literary fiction; women’s fiction that offers stand-out protagonists and ensemble casts; and fantasy of all kinds.


Details for June 2021 Pass or Pages: 

Entry starts: Monday, June 7 at 6 a.m. Eastern

Entry ends: Friday, June 11 at 6 p.m. Eastern
Category/Genre: Adult Fantasy!
How To Enter: Fill out the entry form on the contest post when it goes live on June 7.
What Is Required: Your query (NO BIO or personalization for agents), your first 250 words, a complete and polished MS

You can also read more about the rules 
here.

The winning entries with agent commentary will be posted on Operation Awesome the week of June 21st, one entry each day. If you aren't comfortable with having your entry (which will be anonymous) shared on the blog, please don't enter Pass or Pages!


If you have any questions, please ask in the comments or tweet 
@OpAwesome6. Also, feel free to chat about the contest with fellow participants with the hashtag #PassOrPages.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Add your awesome here: