Thursday, May 31, 2012

Heads Up! Mystery Agent On The Way!!

Tomorrow is our June Mystery Agent Contest, so polish up those pitches! Full details for the contest will be posted tomorrow, but just a little heads up and a few reminders.

Our Mystery Agent this month is looking for any sub genre of YA, MG, and picture books. More specifically:
- Magical or inspiring MG in the vein of Savvy, The Tales of Despereaux, or Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
- Smart MG action/adventure novels, either high-concept fiction or re-imaginings of existing mythology, in the vein of Rick Riordan, Michael Buckley, and Trenton Lee Stewart
- MG or YA that hints at secret societies, espionage, film noir or high-stakes international intrigue (contemporary or historical)
- MG mysteries or YA thrillers (with the latter category being fairly edgy)
- Contemporary YA with humor and emotional resonance similar to John Green or Matthew Quick
- Intense, challenging or even gritty YA (think Laurie Halse Anderson or Jay Asher…)

Reminders:

  • Pitches should be for completed manuscripts only.
  • You can enter one pitch for one novel - if you make a mistake, just delete your entry and repost.
  • Yes, you are eligible to enter even if you've won MA contests in the past.
  • The first 50 qualifying pitches will be accepted - don't pay attention to the comment numbers. We will close the contest when we've reached our limit.
  • If the rules (which will be posted tomorrow) are not followed, your pitch will be disqualified. Please carefully read the guidelines and follow them
  • Pitches should be one-line pitches - try not to push the boundaries on this one - Four sentences separated by semi-colons will NOT count as a one line pitch. ;)
  • Anyone can enter as long as your novel falls under the genres our MA is looking for. If this particular MA doesn't rep your genre, no worries - we hold these contests often and try to find agents with diverse tastes so there will be a contest in the future for your particular genre
The contest will go live at 10 am ET/9 CT / 8 MT/ 7 PT

Stay tuned tomorrow for complete details! And good luck with your pitches :)

9 comments:

  1. Thanks, Michelle! I'll try to remember to come back.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I write adult fantasy, so I'm nowhere near in the running for this.

    But to all those entering tomorrow ... good luck! ^_^

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds great! Thanks for hosting. Is there a certain time to enter or should we just keep stopping by until we see it live?

    ReplyDelete
  4. I hope I make it in -one of those categories is right up my street. Thanks for hosting!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Do we include word count, title, genre, etc.?

    ReplyDelete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete

Add your awesome here: